New features in 2.8.0.beta5
Personal/Group messaging improvements
We’ve added a number of improvements to the Messages interface.
- Easily switch between personal and group inboxes.
all inboxes view to see messages from both the personal inbox and any group inboxes a user has access to
- New and unread message lists - easily see what messages have come in that you haven’t seen, even if another group member read and archived it already.
- Ability to bulk dismiss New or Unread messages
Allow admin to delete all posts by a user
By default, Discourse only allows “all posts” of a user to be deleted if there are less than 15 posts. This helps ensure a user with a large number of posts isn’t deleted without the staff being aware of the post count. Admins could always modify the site setting if a user with more posts needed to be deleted. To avoid the need for admins to frequently change settings, admins are now exempt from this limit. A warning is now shown allowing the admin to delete all posts. Moderators are still affected by the limit.
Improve “blank page syndrome”
New users, as well as those users without posts, likes, notifications, etc. frequently land on pages within Discourse that are “blank”. Instead of showing a blank page, Discourse now displays just in time info so the user can learn what will eventually be shown. Such content has been added to the notification page, bookmarks page, messages page, and within the user menu.
New “unseen” view
Discourse now supports “unseen”, in addition to latest, new, unread, top, etc. Unseen displays all topics a user has not muted, which have unread posts. This includes both new topics a user has never read, as well as topics a user has partially read.
Users can access unseen via
/unseen , and admins can add unseen to the top menu via the
top menu site setting.
Show draft count in user menu
The count of drafts a user has is now shown in the user menu. Draft count is also displayed on the user activity page.
Allow uploaded avatars by trust level
Previously, admins could disable support for custom, uploaded user avatars, but this would impact all users on the site. The
allow uploaded avatars site setting now supports trust levels, enabling a site to prevent lower trust level users from uploading avatars while allowing high trust level users.